As of September 2017, the Community of Democracies is collectively led by the Executive Committee (EC) comprising Chile, Norway, Poland, Republic of Korea, Romania, Sweden and the UK.

The Executive Committee is composed of elected Governing Council member states and provides strategic recommendations and opinions to the Governing Council to inform decisions on the activities of the Community of Democracies.

The EC countries assume rotating chairmanship for a period of six months. Norway assumed the first term of the chairmanship (September 2017- March 2018). As of March 15th, 2018, the chairmanship is held by Chile.