

ACT OF RECOMMITMENT TO THE WARSAW DECLARATION July 2-4, 2010

We, the Participants, from:

the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, the Republic of Albania, the Argentine Republic, Australia, the Republic of Austria, the People's Republic of Bangladesh, the Kingdom of Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Federative Republic of Brazil, the Republic of Bulgaria, Canada, the Republic of Chile, the Republic of Colombia, the Republic of Croatia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Czech Republic, the Kingdom of Denmark, the Republic of Ecuador, the Republic of El Salvador, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Finland, the French Republic, Georgia, the Federal Republic of Germany, the Republic of Guatemala, the Republic of Haiti, the Hellenic Republic, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Iceland, the Republic of India, the Republic of Indonesia, the Republic of Iraq, Ireland, the State of Israel, the Italian Republic, Japan, the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, the Republic of Kenya, the Republic of Korea, the State of Kuwait, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lebanon, the Kingdom of Lesotho, the Principality of Liechtenstein, the Republic of Lithuania, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Malaysia, the Republic of Mali, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, the Kingdom of Morocco, the Republic of Namibia, the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, New Zealand, the Federal Republic of Nigeria, the Kingdom of Norway, the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, the Republic of Panama, the Republic of Paraguay, the Republic of Peru, the Republic of Philippines, the Republic of Poland, the Portuguese Republic, Romania, the Republic of Serbia, the Slovak Republic, the Republic of Slovenia, the Republic of South Africa, the Kingdom of Spain, the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, the Kingdom of Sweden, the Swiss Confederation, the Kingdom of Thailand, the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste, the Republic of Turkey, the Republic of Uganda, Ukraine, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the United Mexican States, the United States of America, the Eastern Republic of Uruguay,

in the Community of Democracies High Level Democracy Meeting held in Kraków on 2nd- 4th July 2010:

Noting that our meeting marks the 10th anniversary of the founding of the Community of Democracies and the adoption of the Warsaw Declaration;

Acknowledging that the political, social and economic developments of the past 10 years have had a profound impact on the process of democratization in the world;

Recognizing that the advance of democracy has stalled in many parts of the world and that democracy faces competition from other political-economic models;

We hereby reaffirm the values, commitments and provisions contained in the founding document of the Community of Democracies, the Warsaw Declaration of 2000, respecting the rights, freedoms and responsibilities that are the essence of democratic governance and the commitment of governments to work together to promote and strengthen democracy, as well as those agreed to at the subsequent Community of Democracies Ministerial Conferences in Seoul (2002), Santiago (2005), Bamako (2007) and Lisbon (2009).

We therefore commit ourselves to:

Intensifying our efforts to transform the Community of Democracies into a unique forum for the world's democracies to promote and strengthen democracy on a global basis, as well as to discussing and promoting democratic values; Bolstering collaboration on democracy-related issues in existing international and regional institutions;

Creating, together with democracy activists and everyone committed to the democratic process, a new global agenda for the Community of Democracies to increase the efficiency, intensity and scope of its activities.