Governing Council

The Governing Council (GC) is the Community’s principal decision-making body. Its 30 members represent more than 2.5 billion people across the globe, giving the Governing Council a geographic and political diversity that reinforces the organization’s multinational character.

Governing Council Member States

Argentina, Cabo Verde, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, Guatemala, Hungary, India, Italy, Japan, Lithuania, Mali, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Norway, Nigeria, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, South Africa, Sweden, United States of America, Uruguay, United Kingdom.

 Governing Council Activities

Member states have committed to advance the core principles of democracy and human rights in their foreign policy, and are obligated to play an active role in the leadership and activities of the Community.

The mandate of the GC includes the following activities: 
• Approving activities undertaken on behalf of the Community
• Selecting future presidencies of the Community
• Approving the list of Ministerial Conference invitees
• Inviting new member states to be part of the Governing Council
• Endorsing cooperation agreements with partners
• Recognizing affiliated bodies
• Electing an executive committee from among its members
• Suspending membership on the Governing Council in the case of an unconstitutional or comparable deviation from the democratic process

Member States make voluntary financial contributions to the Community. They are also required to fulfill a broader commitment to provide tangible support, in the form of financial contributions, secondments to the Permanent Secretariat and active participation in Working Groups or other affiliated bodies.