The Presidency oversees, coordinates and facilitates the activities of the CoD and provides leadership to meet the strategic objectives of the CoD. The Presidency works with the Governing Council, the Executive Committee and the Secretary General.

Since September 2022 until December 2023 the Presidency was held by Canada. Previous Presidencies were held by: Romania (2019-2022) South Korea (2001-2003), Chile (2003-2005), Mali (2005-2007), Portugal (20017- 2009_, Lithuania (2009-2011), Mongolia (2011-2013), El Salvador (2013-2015), the United States (2015-2017). Between Sept 2017-Sept 2019, the CoD was led by a collective chairmanship of the CoD Executive Committee.