As of September 2017, the Community of Democracies is collectively chaired by the Executive Committee (EC).

The Executive Committee is composed of elected Governing Council Member States and provides strategic recommendations and opinions to the Governing Council to inform decisions on the activities of the Community of Democracies.

Currently the Executive Committee comprises Chile, Norway, Poland, Republic of Korea, Romania, Sweden and the UK. 

Four Executive Committee Member States, Norway, Chile, the UK and Poland, assume a rotating chairmanship of the EC for a period of six months.

Poland is the current chair of the EC, as of March 15th, 2019.

Previous terms of the EC chairmanship were held by:  United Kingdom (September 15th 2018- March 15th 2019), Norway (15 Sept 2017- 15 March 2017) and Chile (15 March- 15 September 2018).